Breaking Bad

I just started watching AMC’s Breaking Bad this week on recommendation from a friend. I didn’t think too much of it from his description of the show, but after watching an episode and half, I think I may be hooked.

–!!!PILOT EPISODE SPOILERS BELOW!!!–

From the first scenes in the pilot, the show grips you and doesn’t let go. That first scene with Walt driving the old RV down the desert road is so fast-paced and suspenseful. It makes you think that the whole episode will deal with the repurcusions of the RV crash. At this point, we don’t even know what Walt was doing in the RV. why he’s wearing a gas mask, and why there are bodies being thrown around in the back. I knew that Walt started cooking meth because my friend told me earlier, but otherwise, I would have been clueless.

From the first two episodes I’ve seen (well, one and a half), it seems that the first scene will be meant as a hook, something that happens in the future. Then we’ll go back to the events leading up to that opening scene. It’s a good method for getting the audience’s attention, and it has definitely worked on me.

All I can say so far is that the story is intriguing, the acting is amazing, the writing is awesome, and the cinematography is pretty good. I know I’m a bit late to jump on the bandwagon, so to speak, but I’ll continue watching and keep the blog updated with any other musings I have on the show.

Image Source: Breaking Bad Wiki

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

