Android App of the Week: Any.do

Source: Android Market

I don’t remember how I discovered Any.do, but I’m happy I did. This to do app is well designed, easy to use, and has a ton of useful features. I still haven’t decided if I like it better than Do It Tomorrow, though. At the moment, it’s a toss-up.

Features:

  • Syncs with Google Tasks
  • Set reminders for tasks
  • Organize tasks into folders
  • Prioritize tasks
  • Sort by time frame (Today, Tomorrow, This Week, Later)
  • Add notes to a task
  • Share a task (need to invite them to use Any.do)
  • Swype to complete a task
  • Integration with phone and email contacts
  • Free widget
  • Probably more that I haven’t discovered yet

So far it’s been pretty useful, but there are a few issues that still need to be ironed out. Reminders for tasks don’t ring when in silent mode, which I guess is a pro or a con, depending on how you look at it. For me, it’s definitely a con. I’ve forgotten about a few tasks because my phone was in silent mode. The swype gesture to mark a task as completed is a bit finicky at times, but I think I’ve figure it out now. It should be a lot more intuitive, though. The app also advertises the ability to shake to remove completed tasks, but I haven’t been able to get that to work, unfortunately. Last, although the widget is really great, it’s a bit rough around the edges. Specifically, some of the words around the edges are cut off, as if the widget is using a larger font than was intended.

Overall, it’s a great app. If those few issues I mentioned are ironed out, I think it’ll be one of the best to do apps on the market.

Link: Android Market

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

