Frite Alors! – Montreal, QC

Since I’m in Montreal for the first time, I thought I should explore the city. More on that in a later post, but for dinner today, I decided to stop by Frite Alors! As you can see by the picture below (and the name), the restaurant specializes in french fries.
They apparently have several locations in Montreal. The one I stopped by was on Rue Saint-Denis in Quartier Latin (Latin Quarter) near UQAM (Université du Québec à Montréal).
The menu was mostly burgers and sandwiches, along with just fries with various toppings. It was also a bit pricey, with the lowest-priced burger at $8.75 CAD (about $9.10 USD). Looking down the list of burgers, my eyes were drawn to the La Rudolph Burger, which is a caribou burger with lettuce, swiss cheese, onion jam (don’t know what exactly this is, but it was similar to caramelized onions, very sweet), pickles, and their special sauce. As for a sauce for my fries, I went with Limette, mayonnaise with lemon and black pepper. Here’s what I got:

I was expecting the sauce to be on the fries, but the sauce in the cup was a better idea. I wasn’t sure how to tackle the burger, so I decided to cut in in half. Here’s the half of the burger I hadn’t eaten yet:

Oh, and for my drink, I got a Diabolo Menthe, which is 7up with mint syrup. It was delicious. Pic below.

Overall, the meal was delicious. The burger was one of the best I’ve had. The caribou meat was softer than beef, but tasted similar. The onions gave the burger a sweet taste, while the pickles gave it a bit of a sour kick. The special sauce didn’t really add too much, just something to hold it all together. I didn’t like the Limette sauce for the fries that much, but the fries themselves were really good. Nice and crunchy.
Overall cost was about $18 (with tip), which is a bit pricey, but totally worth it.

    • The VerboseVixen
    • May 12th, 2011

    the diablo menthe sounds disgusting. mint and 7up? really?

    • Yea, it was extremely refreshing. They go together quite well.

  1. December 29th, 2011

Leave a Reply

