Pete Miller’s Seafood & Prime Steak

Pete Miller’s Seafood & Prime Steak
1557 Sherman Ave.
Evanston, IL 60201

I’ve heard a lot about Pete Miller’s in my time in Evanston, but I’ve never had the chance to go, not to mention the money. Luckily, Groupon had a $25 for $50 deal for Pete Miller’s recently, and I jumped at the opportunity.

Today I finally visited for an early Easter dinner with family. Since it’s supposed to be well known for its steak, I figured I should order one. I tend to only order filet mignon when eating steak, but the server recommended the Kansas City steak, which is a New York cut with the bone, cooked with peppercorn and served with a cognac reduction sauce. I ordered it medium rare. Low res cell phone picture below:


I was completely disappointed with the steak. The peppercorn was overdone, way too strong, and the cognac reduction sauce had no taste at all. The meat itself was charred on the edges and rare in the middle. And the potatoes weren’t any better. They tasted like the kind you can buy frozen and just heat up in the microwave. The overall presentation was underwhelming as well.

From the others with me, I gathered that the Grilled Loch Duart Organic Scottish Salmon was very good, but the garlic mashed potatoes tasted like the kind you can make from flakes in a box.

The service was average, nothing spectacular. For such an expensive restaurant, I was expecting much more. I still want to go to try their Filet Mignon. That’ll be their one chance to redeem themselves in my eyes.

My ratings:
Food: 3/5
Price: 2/5
Service: 4/5
Overall: 3/5

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

