New Years, DIY Gastric Bypass, Glasses Free 3D, & More

I’m just going to come out and say it. I LOVE FIREWORKS! Which is one reason why I love New Years Eve so much. Every year I look to two cities for NYE fireworks: London and Sydney.

Between the two, I always thought Sydney’s were the best, just because of the scale, length of the show, choreography to music, and sheer amount of fireworks. But this year, London stepped it up a notch (and Sydney seemed to fall). For the 2010/11 NYE, I think London takes the cake for an amazing show. I’ve been scouring the internet trying to find an HD version of the display, but all I can find is 480p. Even in SD, though, the display is amazing:

Big Ben, the London Eye, and amazing timing with well-chosen music makes me want to be there every time I watch the video. The perfect timing at the 6:00 and 7:45 marks is just amazing. And the ending song (a clip from Dizzee Rascal’s Holiday) is perfect for the finale. I wish they had a better video of the finale, though. All those fireworks overwhelm the camera’s sensor at the end.

Here’s Sydney’s NYE show:

DIY Gastric Bypass

Moving on to other items of interest, Amazon has started selling a DIY Gastric Bypass kit. For $263.95, you get not one, but THREE kits! I can’t tell if this is a joke item or not, but either way it’s hilarious. Here are some of the funnier comments:

Unfortunately I managed to get this all screwed up. It should have been clearer that you don’t use all three kits. I ended up doing my stomach, liver and what I believe is a kidney although I don’t have enough medical experience to say for sure. It was very hard to use some of the tools while looking in the various mirrors I had set up. But, I got it done. At one point my wife came in, saw the mess and said I should have called a real doctor. Well, I showed her! I’m now happily eating, drinking and urinating much less. I look forward to trying the next release, the cardiac bypass kit.

…one can decide if an incision is to be made, or one can just undo the belly button and put this kit in quickly. It comes in a convenient 3-pack so that it can be a family project.

My only complaint is that it should probably include industrial size plastic wraps as body fluid mess can prove to be rather challenging to remove from living room carpeting.

Well I was happy enough with it until i tried to set it up. I’m lying back on my kitchen island, scalpel in hand, when I realise there’s no anaesthetic. What a fix! Why can’t they provide everything I really need to get to the male equivalent of a Size Zero?

I bought 3-4 of these kits and printed a few signs to hang on telephone poles aorund town. I am no dimwit, so I made sure to place the signs in places where my vict…I mean patients would be congregating. One outside the doughnut shop around the corner, one next to the Curves gym, and a few near the store that sells mobility scooters. Within days my phone was ringing off the hook. I bought a few folding tables at a yard sale, 2 new blue tarps from the hardware store, and a shop vac (for the Liposuction). That was all the extra supplies I needed as this kit has it all!

Check out the product and more hilarious quotes here: http://goo.gl/X5guq

3D without the glasses?

According to the video below, it’s a reality. Like the DIY Gastric Bypass, I can’t tell if this is real or not. If it’s a fake, it’s really well done. If it’s legit, I think I’ll take the glasses instead. After watching a 2 hour movie, your eyelids may start to involuntarily twitch. Maybe if you use it enough, you’ll always blink like that. Then everything will look 3D! (not really)

Winter Wonderland?

With winter really starting to kick into full gear around the US, a lot of people are complaining about the snow. The way I see it, we really don’t have anything to complain about. Take a look at some of these pictures from Japan, where it takes an army of machines to clear one road:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

[via Gizmodo]

That’s it for today!

  1. Nice site, keep up the good work, my colleagues would love this. I read a lot of blogs every day, and for the most part the authors lack substance, but not in this case. I just wanted to make a short comment to say I’m glad I found your blog, I’m gonna bookmark this pauly4it.wordpress.com web site. Thanks

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

